I worked on Functions and nested loops using C

I worked on Functions and nested loops using C

So today, I had another interesting experience. I have been programming in C language for no longer than 2+ months but after consuming a lot of videos, documentations, blog posts etc. I still know very little.

I am certain you know already that I am enrolled in the ALX-Holberton Software Engineering School. I am currently in the first trimester where we are working basically with C language. Now let me gist you. What makes the program quite interesting and tedious at the same time is because we have to do everything using COMMAND LINES.

This means we do not get to use the Github GUI for making commits. If you have ever worked with Linux or Ubuntu terminal, you will definitely know what I am saying. So what did I do today?

alx.png

In today's task, we were forbidden to use the standard C programming libraries, rather one created by Holberton school: "Holberton.h". Just like any new task, it was hard for me to do because it meant I could not use the printf, putchar functions but customized ones. I also needed to learn a new way to compile my code. But I finally got it.

Using the holberton.h library, I wrote the following codes:

  1. A code that prints alphabet in lower and upper case
  2. A function that checks for alphabetic character
  3. A function that prints the sign of a number
  4. A function that prints the absolute value of an integer
  5. A function that prints time table 0f 9
  6. A function that adds two integers and print the results

I wrote many more interesting codes today. You can be sure that I spent a lot of hours trying to get those codes to run but I did it.

C is an assembly language. It interacts very well with the computer hardware and a major tool for creating many operating systems. One day I will make one.